ARIZONA BOARD OF REGENTS

Minutes of the Committee on Free Expression August 5, 2021

The Arizona Board of Regents Committee on Free Expression held a virtual meeting on Monday, August 5, 2021.

Committee Members present (via video): John Arnold (Chair); from Arizona State University (via video): Derrick Anderson, José Cárdenas, Joanne Vogel, Giselle Retena; from Northern Arizona University (via video): Kimberly Ott, Michelle Parker, Margot Saltonstall, Eric Yordy, Maylee Acosta; from the University of Arizona (via video): Toni Massaro, David Schmidtz, Robert "Bob" Sommerfeld, Kendal Washington White, Noah Daniel Vega.

Committee Member absent: Patrick Kenney, Arizona State University

Also present via video were: from the ABOR office: Jennifer Pollock, Samantha Blevins, Nancy Tribbensee, Sue Sosa, Suzanne Templin, Tom Merriam, Sarah Harper; from Arizona State University: Christine Wilkinson, Kim Demarchi; from Northern Arizona University: Christy Farley, Katy Yanez, Laurie Dickson; from the University of Arizona: Kody Kelleher, Art Lee; Closed Captioner: Amanda Rogues.

Chair John Arnold called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES (ITEM 1)

Upon motion by Chair Arnold, seconded by David Schmidtz, the committee approved, with the correction, stating it was a student from the University of Arizona, not an employee, as requested by Bob Sommerfeld in Item 2, the public session minutes of the July 20, 2020 Committee on Free Expression meeting.

John Arnold, Derrick Anderson, José Cárdenas, Joanne Vogel, Giselle Retena, Kimberly Ott, Michelle Parker, Margot Saltonstall, Eric Yordy, Maylee Acosta, Toni Massaro, David Schmidtz, Robert "Bob" Sommerfeld, Kendal Washington White and Noah Daniel Vega voted in favor. None opposed and none abstained. Motion passed.

REVIEW OF OPEN MEETING LAW (ITEM 2)

Jennifer Pollock provided an overview of Open Meeting Law and reminded the committee that as the Committee on Free Expression, which is a statutorily required committee of the Arizona Board of Regents, which is a public body, the committee is also a public body subject to the Open Meeting Law.

Ms. Pollock asked the committee if they had any questions, there were none.

REVIEW STATUTORY CHARGE TO THE FREE EXPRESSION COMMITTEE TO SUBMIT AN ANNUAL REPORT (ITEM 3)

Samantha Blevins provided an overview of the A.R.S §15-1867 statutory charge.

REVIEW OF AND POSSIBLE ACTION TO APPROVE AND FORWARD THE STATUTORY REPORT ON FREE EXPRESSION FOR FY 2021 (ITEM 4)

Ms. Blevins provided an update concerning the NAU fees related to free expression.

Chair Arnold thanked Ms. Blevins and staff from each of the universities, who contributed to the report. Chair Arnold asked if there were any comments or further discussion from the committee members, none were provided.

Upon motion by Chair Arnold, seconded by Toni Massaro, the committee approved the proposed report with changes as discussed in this meeting and authorized Samantha Blevins to make non-substantive changes in preparation for submission to the board for approval at its August 26, 2021 meeting.

John Arnold, Derrick Anderson, José Cárdenas, Joanne Vogel, Giselle Retena, Kimberly Ott, Michelle Parker, Margot Saltonstall, Eric Yordy, Maylee Acosta, Toni Massaro, David Schmidtz, Robert "Bob" Sommerfeld, Kendal Washington White and Noah Daniel Vega voted in favor. None opposed and none abstained. Motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 12:11 p.m.

Submitted by:
Sue Sosa Committee Secretary